1300 130 447

Blog Email Google+
Price Guide



of organisations
 make a knowledge base
available to end users 

Source - HDI Report

About the Knowledge Base

Quick access for subscribers:

Search all the Knowledge Base

Testimonial: I have found that the new HDAA Knowledge Base reduces the time it takes me to research industry stats & reliable information for the ITSM sector. It’s easy to use search functionality encompassing KCS principles, helps to filter & tailor my searches more accurately & there are numerous new services now available through the website. Every time I return to the site there is new information published. Very impressive.
Chris Powderly, Support & Services Manager, Allens

ITIL 4 Qualification Scheme 

ITIL 4 has been designed to help organizations meet the increasing demand from the current complex digital environment. The new scheme has been designed to be backwards compatible with ITIL v3 and streamlined to encourage conversion beyond ITIL Foundation level.  

The ITIL 4 Certification Scheme comprises of the following modules: 

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist modules (3)
  • ITIL Strategist
  • ITIL Leader
  • ITIL Master

To obtain the designation ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) or ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL), the professional must complete all modules in each stream, with ITIL Strategist being a universal module for both streams. 


ITIL 4 Certification Scheme















ITIL® v3 Qualification Scheme

The ITIL® Qualification Scheme provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL best practice to various degrees of depth and detail.

The tiered structure of the scheme offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest.

ITIL Qualification Scheme

Foundation Level

The ITIL Foundation level qualification is the entry level qualification which offers a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.

Practitioner Level

The ITIL Practitioner level qualification is the next stage in the ITIL scheme. It has been developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate Level for professionals who have already learned the basics of IT Service Management (ITSM).

The qualification offers practical guidance on how to adopt and adapt the ITIL framework to support the business’ objectives.

Intermediate Level

The ITIL Intermediate level qualification has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation level and Practitioner, and provide an industry-recognized qualification.

Some may wish to concentrate on one set of modules, but you can choose to select modules from both the Service Lifecycle and Service Capability streams in order to combine management and technical knowledge.

Service Lifecycle Modules

Service Capability Modules

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement
  • Operational Support and Analysis (OSA) is based on best practice guidance in the  Service Operation publication
  • Planning, Protection and Optimisation (PPO) is based on best practice guidance in the Service Design publication
  • Release, Control and Validation (RCV) is based on best practice guidance in the Service Transition publication
  • Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA) is based on best practice guidance in the Service Strategy and Service Design publications

ITIL Intermediate Navigator

Axelos’ interactive ITIL Navigator tool will help you choose the ITIL Intermediate Level modules that can teach you the skills that will suit your current or desired job role.

Expert Level

The ITIL Expert level qualification is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL Scheme in its entirety. The certificate is awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL qualifications and have attained a well-rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices.

Master Level

To achieve the ITIL Master qualification, you must be able to explain and justify how you have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods and techniques from ITIL and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.

For more information go to www.axelos.com.


View Frequently Asked Questions about ITIL 4

View HDAA Training Catalogue

View HDAA Training Calander

Return to Home